Research, Education & Community

The goal of Project ACHIEVE is to effectively find ways to prevent HIV infection. To achieve this, we work with many populations in the New York City area.

Research

Established in 1993, Project ACHIEVE, is part of the New York Blood Center’s Laboratory of Infectious Disease Prevention.  We conduct intervention trials to develop innovative ways to help participants reduce their risk of HIV infection and studies spanning all phases of HIV vaccine research as part of an international effort to find a preventive HIV vaccine.

Education

In addition to our research, we continue to educate the community to build awareness of the need for a vaccine and other prevention interventions; to build acceptance and support for research; and to encourage advocacy for new trials.  We achieve this through a variety of ways which include group presentations and workshops, conferences, and newsletters. 

Request a community education presentation

Community

Project ACHIEVE and Columbia University Medical Center work together to conduct trials of preventive HIV vaccines.  We also partner with multiple Community Based Organizations in the New York City metro area to develop and test innovative behavioral interventions.  Our Community Education and Recruitment staff is frequently found in the streets engaging participants for new studies and distributing HIV prevention materials.  We organize and participate in community events to commemorate special days of the year such as HIV Vaccine Awareness Day, National Black HIV/AIDS Awareness Day, National Latino AIDS Awareness Day, and New York City Gay Prides. Some of our trial participants and other volunteers from the community form our Community Advisory Board (CAB).  The CAB meets throughout the year to discuss the interests and concerns of target communities for HIV prevention.

Want to learn more about becoming a partner with Project ACHIEVE?

Email us at achieve@nybloodcenter.org.

Staff

Victoria Frye, Investigator vfrye@nybloodcenter.org

Beryl Koblin, Investigator bkoblin@nybloodcenter.org

Jay Loeffel, Administrator jloeffel@nybloodcenter.org

Debbie Lucy, Director of Clinical Studies dlucy@nybloodcenter.org

Jermaine McCrossin, Recruitment Specialist jmcrossin@nybloodcenter.org

Vijay Nandi, Senior Research Analyst vnandi@nybloodcenter.org

Geneva Ortiz, Project Associate gortiz@nybloodcenter.org

Kiwan Stewart, Senior Counselor kstewart@nybloodcenter.org

Leah Strock, Clinician lstrock@nybloodcenter.org

Hong Van Tieu, Investigator htieu@nybloodcenter.org

DaShawn Usher, Community Education and Recruitment Manager dusher@nybloodcenter.org

Tasha Vazquez, Coordinator tvazquez@nybloodcenter.org